PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > PASA, Paper Aeronautical and Space Administration

Old 03-18-2013, 08:31 AM

Total Downloaded: 319.31 MB
Apollo Era Crawler

Greetings all, I am a long time reader, and occasional poster but I have never done a build thread before so I thought this model would be a good one for my first. I am going to try to build the Apollo era crawler being sold by MicorArtwork. I have followed the development of this project for years and have been very impressed with level of detail and the research that went into it. The MicroArtsWork web site says this will be one of three pieces of the moon landing trilogy, the crawler, the launch umbilical tower and the Apollo Saturn Five. I thought, since it took MicroArtWork 10 years to make the crawler, it would take them 20 years for the LUT but they are making fantastic progress on it and they estimate that it should be available in about 2 years. That works well because after looking at this model I think it will take me about 2 years to complete so it should be done about the same time. I just received my copy of the kit last week and have attached some shots of what you get in the package. The quality of the printing is outstanding and the numbers of pieces are staggering, 11,289 but I look forward to the challenge. The instruction manual that accompanies the model is highly detailed and appears complete but one nice touch is that when you ordered the model you will receive a PDF of the instructions. This PDF can be zoomed so you can really zoom in on the smaller details. There are several different types of materials for the different parts, like black tissue paper to simulate the flexible boots that surround the hydraulic pistons, yellow pieces for parts of the railings, and parts printed on transparencies to simulate grills for such things as fans and vents. The parts that will be visible from bot h sides are colored on both sides which cuts down on the