PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Railway related builds

Old 08-14-2016, 10:25 AM

Total Downloaded: 37.67 MB
A4 Pacific Sir Nigel Gresley, O-scale

Back from summer vacation and time to start a new build. I must admit to prefer building flying things such as airplanes and birds and the occasional something traditionally architectural but it’s time for a change. Papertrade published this wonderful O-scale (1:48) A4 Pacific steam locomotive earlier this year, obtainable in hardcopy and download via - Zeist Bouwplaten - Import, verkoop, ontwerp en productie van papieren schaalmodellen, maquettes en bouwplaten (cardmodels), Modelbouw, Rietveld cutoutmodels and I’m just curious about building such a great machine. I’ve never built a steam locomotive before so it will be sort of a quest, undoubtedly complete with all the inevitable humps during the journey. Well, that’s part of the charm.

The A4 Pacific locomotives served on the long distance railway tracks in Great Britain between the mid-1930s and 60s and several speed records were set by these wind tunnel designed machines. Pre-war record was 126 mph by the “Mallard” and the post-war record of 112 mph was reached by the “Sir Nigel Gresley”, being the subject of this model and named after the designer of the A4 series.

Out of the 35 operational A4’s only six still exist and are kept alive and kicking by various musea and private organisations. The Gresley for instance is preserved by the A4 Locomotive Preservation Society and the Mallard can be seen in the National Railway Museum in York. Several film clips can be found on YouTube as well as pictures and other information on the internet about these great machines, which provide a wealth of background information. Perhaps useful to enhance the model with a few extra details during the build.