PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 09-04-2011, 11:51 AM

Total Downloaded: 163.85 MB
Post JSC 1/400 HMS Nelson/HMS Begonia

This isn't *really* a build thread since I'm providing updates while the build is in progress. This is my first attempt at a commercial kit (many thanks to papercut for realizing that this and a few other kits were surplus to his needs ). Because I did promise papercut on purchase that I would build what I bought, I tip my hat to him in this thread.

General Comments

I will add photos is subsequent posts, but I wanted to add a few observations on the kit first.

I do like JSC for their relative simplicity when compared to other kits. I'm not yet ready to tackle a full-hull kit, so being able to worry about waterline-only is a plus for me at this stage. I was able to obtain the English-language instructions - saving me from a crash course in Polish - and I was off to the races.

The paper in my kit was clean, crisp and of identical weight throughout. The parts layouts were simple with sizes ranging from the two-piece main deck down to the tiny shields for the 20mm Oerlikon AA guns.

Thoughts