PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 08-22-2008, 01:49 PM

Total Downloaded: 37.75 MB
A Question - About "Windows"

I'm a newbie here, so please excuse my delving into the past. I'm building a model of the Italian battleship Massena and read with interest Carl's (Golden Bear) fantastic post on building his model. I have great plans and photos, but I'm puzzled by one thing - all those crazy "windows" on this ship. I can't find a detailed enough photograph to show what is going on. I have drawings from other French ships that show a door with a porthole in it that is hinged on top, but I see no evidence of this door or anything like it in the photos I have of the ship in harbor. All I see is white-outlined square openings in the side of the superstructure.

I find it hard to believe that the covering for these openings hinged inward! Not a good scenario for a watertight seal. There must have been some way to seal these openings. Does anyone have any information on how this unique French system worked – or did they just remain simple square “windows” in the hull and one hoped a shell didn’t happen to sail through during battle!

RT
Google Adsense
Old 08-23-2008, 03:28 PM

Total Downloaded: 2.18 MB
They hinged up and down. Also, it is a French battleship named after one of Napoleon's generals. Good luck with this. Sometime I plan on redoing it in 1:250 but that is a ways off.

Those curvey sides on the ships were unarmored. It didn't make much difference if they had ports in them or not because they were invisible to actual shellfire anyway.

Carl
Old 08-24-2008, 02:14 AM