PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 03-17-2013, 07:50 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Light Cruiser "Hr.Ms. de Ruyter" 1936-1942 waterline, camouflage

To begin with.....
Having just introduced myself on this forum and this being my first ever cardboard build, I feel a bit embarrassed starting this thread. But hey, who does not dare never wins! So here it goes....

Please remember that I am an absolute cardboard rookie here. So don't think "Ah, he will know that!" since I probably don't. Please feel free to comment the way you see fit, and please learn me the ropes of this craft since it ain't going to happen all by itself and I am for a great deal depending on what you guys have to learn me in order to get better at this.

The kit
I am building the kit: light cruiser "De Ruyter" 1942, scale 1:250, 4-color camouflage waterline model.
It is from Scaldis who provided great service during choice and purchase.
Besides the main kit, I have also treated myself on the available two laser-cut enhancement packs, which are one lc-pack for detailed parts, and one lc-pack for railings.
The price of the main kit was € 17,50 which I think is not too expensive, the laser cut pack for the details was € 14,75 and the one for the railings was € 20,25. All together this was not cheap, but for that one can expect some quality I guess. However, being used to resin/plastic builds, pe-sets for those cost a bit more most of the time.

What surprised me a bit was, that there was no laser cut pack for the frames/framework, which would have offered the possibility to use thicker cardboard and made a more solid frame for the ship. But that is only my thought, and being a complete rookie what do I know?

The ship