PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 12-20-2014, 07:05 PM
POTM Moderator

Total Downloaded: 18.36 MB
German Coastal Defender Beowulf

Hello Friends,

This marks the beginning of a new construction report. It is the German Coastal Defender S.M.S. Beowulf. This publication from H.M.V. has been around since (approx.)1996, and has been a very popular project with European modelers. H.M.V. produces a set of "laser cut" parts to accompany this publication. Since I have no experience with them, I decided to get the LC parts and experience first-hand what they are like to work with. After looking them over, I’m impressed with their precision.

Construction began on Beowulf in 1890. Building took 2 years, and she was commissioned in 1892. It is a small ship at approx. 259 feet. So construction should require less time than a battleship project. The primary armament is three single turrets with 9.4 inch guns. What is unusual about Beowulf is that two of the main turrets are mounted on the bow, side by side, housed in old "domed" turrets. The ship looks so antiquated, I can’t resist it.

This publication was designed by H.M.V. as a "waterline" model. I have decided to design and add an underwater hull. To help with the design, I studied the drawings of one of her sister ships, S.M.S. Hagen. I located the plans on the website "Dreadnought Project". With those plans as my guide, I believe I can render a reasonably accurate underwater hull. So let’s see how it goes.

As you can see in the images, the frames come directly from the plans, and then were reduced to 1:250 scale. There was only one major adjustment needed. In 1900, the Beowulf and her sister ships, received an extensive overhaul. The ships were lengthened by approx. 23 feet. The "Dreadnought Project" drawings were made after the overhaul. So I needed to shorten the frame slightly to bring it back to its 1890 length.