PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 05-30-2013, 08:13 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.33 MB
Maly Modelarz HMS Vanguard

Greetings! This is my first post as I am new to paper modeling, although I have built in plastic, wood, and resin for over 50 years.

A friend just gave to me an old HMS Vanguard by Maly Modelarz. Does anyone know of this kit? It does not list a scale, and the instructions are sparse and in Polish. Is it an accurate depiction of this ship?

After looking at photos of other builds in this forum, I believe that I can figure out the building of this ship. I m wondering what any of you might think of an idea I have of aligning balsa blocks and attaching them to the false keel to help align the frames. Also, what type of glue works best for these kits?

Thanks for any advice and information!

Bill
Google Adsense
Old 05-30-2013, 09:39 AM

Total Downloaded: 10.41 MB
If you could post a picture of the front cover, some of us may be able to provide more insight on it, however please be aware of the following with old maly kits:

Many are printed on rather brittle paper that does not like to fold crisply or roll nicely. You may need to scan this one and print it out on good paper before building to avoid these issues depending on its issue date.

New ones are on much better paper that does not have this issue.

Greg
Old 05-30-2013, 09:45 AM

Total Downloaded: 316.45 MB
Best place to look for other builds would be:

KONRADUS - MODELARSTWO KARTONOWE

They have a database of Maly kits. Think the scale is about 1:300.

Tim
Old 05-30-2013, 10:39 AM

Gentlemen,

I will try to post a picture this evening. Anyway, the paper is very heavy, and I can't imagine how it actually rolls. I hope that I can figure out how to post pics!

Bill
Old 05-30-2013, 10:53 AM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
Here is how to post a picture in a response:
Maly Modelarz HMS Vanguard-picpost.jpg