PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 02-18-2009, 05:32 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Question about materials

I have a question about what types of materials and glue to use for making paper ships.. I'm having a rough go of it..
Google Adsense
Old 02-18-2009, 06:32 PM

Total Downloaded: 86.52 MB
I'm not a ship expert, but what are you building and what scale?
Old 02-18-2009, 06:35 PM

Total Downloaded: 19.54 MB
- for most of the parts a good quality card stock available in packs at any office supply or stationary store. The ultrabright or ulrawhite types work best with my HP inkjet printer.

- smaller, especially rolled, parts are best printed on plain white copier/printer paper

- for the internal framework (egg crate) you can laminate card stock to the required thickness or use manilla file folders, cereal box cardboard, bristol board, etc (regardless of what the instructions say use the cutouts on the model (where the parts interlock) to determine the actual thickness required.

- glue or adhesive is always a great topic around here. Use search to find threads on the subject. I use Aleene's tacky glue (PVA) for most things and any good quality glue stick for laminating. Occasionally I use CA glue and have used Duco cement to good effect but, I do not like the tubes it comes in (that's just me, others swear by it). I saw a post here yesterday where it was in a small bottle. If I could find that locally I would probably use Duco.

For the most part it is all a question of personal preference . . .

~ cheers

Last edited by B-Manic; 02-18-2009 at 06:36 PM. Reason: moo betta
Old 02-19-2009, 07:04 AM
POTM Moderator

Total Downloaded: 18.36 MB
A lot of different glues are used. Like standard "white" (or Elmer's) glue, CA glue, and many here like Duco Cement. You will see a lot of information on it in many of the threads.
Mike
Old 02-19-2009, 10:46 AM

Total Downloaded: 53.69 MB