PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 01-15-2019, 03:36 PM

Total Downloaded: 37.75 MB
Reina Mercedes 1887

First time posting and I’m going to try a ship model, and I’m going to need a lot of luck as this is my first attempt at something like this. I’ve always been fascinated by war ships of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. I’m no Golden Bear or Mike Marsh, so bear with me as I slog through what will be more of a stylized version of one of these models.

Never being the type that tackles something simple, I’ve chosen to build the Reina Mercedes (1887) from the Spanish Paper Boats (Los Barcos De Papel) site published by Jesus Maria Lopez. This site has some amazing and obscure ships and it is a real treat to visit and browse through the photos and plans offered. The only problem is there is no download for plans. Instead, you are offered JPEGs of both the ship models as built and sheets of plans that you can copy. The images are 1178x804 pixels in size at 72 DPI – not a lot of resolution. They are also rather simple when it comes to detail. The portholes, for instance, consist of rather blocky squares. There is also a strange pattern running through the white line above the red hull paint. I’m not sure what this is supposed to represent. The same pattern, a series of dots and possibly portholes, appears on several similar models on this site. None of this is meant to denigrate Mr. Lopez’s designs or artwork, he has obviously chosen to offer a less accurate but very pleasing take on these ships, and the colors and the final result make for some striking models.

I've included a photo from the site of the completed model - I'm not sure who the builder is - and the best shot of the actual ship I could find. You can note obvious differences between the two.