PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 08-24-2019, 05:15 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
24' Sport Fisher model

Here is my first model. It's a 26' 6" sport fishing boat with a full cabin with cuddy. I'm not familiar with scale designations, but on this model, 1 inch equals 2ft in full size. So the model is approximately 13.25 inches long.

I designed the boat from scratch and lofted it on to card stock. My main purpose of this is to learn to design and loft hills so I can one day own a boat shop and build my own line of aluminum boats. I am an aluminum boat builder working for a small manufacturer, so this is more of a natural career progression for me, rather than a really cool dream. Well, I suppose it's both. Anyway, I am building this to prove my design.

My thought is that the critical components of the hull and cabin are large, so building a small model should tell me if my methods are in the ballpark. At this point, I think my weakness is in the cutting and gluing. I've been using scissors and a razor blade to cut. I just received an x-acto kit with the handle and a couple packs of replacement blades. Still using the mini hot glue gun for assembly. For the keel, I slathered 3 layers of cardstock in Elmer's glue, placed it between two small pieces of plywood, and set a 30lb bag of dog food on it for a few hours. Worked nicely.

I'm using pencils, rulers, and protractors for drawing out my lines and labeling parts before cutting. I use a flexy ruler as an improvised batten.

Once I know that my design works at a small scale, I'd like to do a larger one that gets paint and detail and all that. Maybe 1 inch representing 1 foot. If I do it nicely, I may be able to use it as a tool to help potential customers decide they want to pay me lots of money to build a real one for them.