PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 02-10-2020, 02:10 AM

Total Downloaded: 127.22 MB
Tartan after Chapman

Because I was testing the method of construction Seahorse introduced with his kit 'Duyfken' I chose the drawing of a simple vessel (that is: the shape is simple) for a scratch built model. ([N] VOC Duyfken 1606 - 1/2019 Wydawnictwo "Seahorse") Seahorse shows how a paper model can be made without the use of filler and building the kit I was surprised to see how effective the method is. I prefer scratch built models because I am not very good with kits.
I chose a Tartan from F.H. af Chapman's book Architectura Navalis Mercatoria (1775) Plate LVII No 16, because of its simple lines. I hardly do foreign ships and as expected I ran into loads of questions of which I had no answers. For many of them I am still guessing.

Tartan after Chapman-lijnenplan.jpg Tartan after Chapman-tuigage.jpeg

The method proved to work also when used for scratch built models, although Seahorse makes very fine lower planking and mine was a bit rough. For that reason I did use a tiny bit of filler, just on one side, to see if the difference showed in the end. It hardly did. The process was so quick that I forgot to take pictures until the whole hull was planked with the white self-adhesive wood-imprinted plastic strips I always use.

Tartan after Chapman-img_0760.jpg Tartan after Chapman-img_0761.jpg Tartan after Chapman-img_0762.jpg Tartan after Chapman-img_0763.jpg Tartan after Chapman-img_0764.jpg

I read that the tartan was a ship type often used by North African corsairs and though I hate the ignorant popular pirate stories we are usually bombarded with I decided to make mine a pirate. There must be many mistakes in this model, but shortly before finishing me and my son received the request to create a book sleeve for a book about a Dutch fluit that was taken by a Barbarian corsair. Pure coincidence...