PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 11-29-2020, 04:47 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Polarstern (Wilhelmshaven)

This is great looking ship, with all of its cranes and booms. At over 18.5 inches (47cm), its a good size to show them off.

However, I've not ever had a more frustrating build. I don't mind the hand drawn plans, etc, but some numbers seem to be off. In addition, the fit has given me fits. I'm no expert at building but there have been way too many problems for it to be just me. And finally, the plan only shows the starboard side and a lot of the details are lost because of the small size of the drawings used to show the build. Enough whinning.

Yes I still love the build and all being said, I'd still recommend it. Or am I just wrong and it is me? LOL
Attached Thumbnails
Polarstern (Wilhelmshaven)-20200927_103801.jpg   Polarstern (Wilhelmshaven)-20200929_092433.jpg   Polarstern (Wilhelmshaven)-20201028_195753.jpg   Polarstern (Wilhelmshaven)-20201028_195813.jpg   Polarstern (Wilhelmshaven)-starboard-side.jpg  

Old 11-29-2020, 05:53 PM

Total Downloaded: 2.96 GB
Thank you for sharing!

These may help:

In particular this one

https://www.kartonbau.de/forum/thema...-whv/?pageNo=1

https://www.die-kartonmodellbauer.de...ern-1-250-whv/

https://www.kartonbau.de/forum/thema...?postID=531420
Old 11-29-2020, 05:53 PM
POTM Moderator

Total Downloaded: 18.36 MB
You are an experience builder.
Your evaluation should be taken seriously.

Last edited by Michael Mash; 11-29-2020 at 06:35 PM.
Old 11-29-2020, 09:16 PM

Total Downloaded: 720.98 MB
Hi Greg,
Delighted you’re building this as I have it too and keen to try soon. Would be great if you let us know where things don’t fit, then at least we have a heads up about it.
Question: do you secure the keel plate to the board the prevent it from warping?

Regards,
Alan
Old 11-30-2020, 11:12 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Positive_Rate View Post
Hi Greg,