PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Software

View Poll Results: What software do you use to recolor/texture a model?
PhotoShop 43 33.33%
Coreldraw 13 10.08%
Gimp 16 12.40%
MSPaint 13 10.08%
Inkscape 11 8.53%
Paint Shop Pro 21 16.28%
Other (specify) 12 9.30%
Voters: 129. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 11:25 AM
cgutzmer's Avatar
Design Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sun Prairie WI
Posts: 7,131
cool - thanks for the run down
__________________
Want to buy some models from independent designers? http://www.ecardmodels.com and visit the shop!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:44 PM
cafe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: some 58 km west of Paris
Posts: 992
I design and recolor with Inkscape. Occasionnaly, if the source file is in a bitmap format (BMP/JPG/GIF), I'll use MS Paint but I prefer working on a vector file. So I'll either use the vectorizing feature of Inkscape or retrace the model.
__________________
Carlos
Currently designing : JJ-7/FT-7/MiG-21U & Mirage III family in 1:200 scale
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:51 PM
cgutzmer's Avatar
Design Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sun Prairie WI
Posts: 7,131
inkscape will take a file and vectorize it? like I can import a pdf and work on it in there etc etc?
__________________
Want to buy some models from independent designers? http://www.ecardmodels.com and visit the shop!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 02:55 PM
cafe's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: some 58 km west of Paris
Posts: 992
Yes but it's not perfect. That's why I switched to retracing for Paragon's F-104. But I got pretty good results when I vectorized USAF badges (Thunderbirds, AETC, AFMC...).

Howto: Vectorize images in Inkscape Motho ke motho ka botho

Quote:
like I can import a pdf and work on it in there etc etc?
Inkscape will import only one PDF page, but yes you can do that. And sometimes there's no need to vectorize: the pdf already uses vectors and that's what you get when opening the file in Inkscape.
__________________
Carlos
Currently designing : JJ-7/FT-7/MiG-21U & Mirage III family in 1:200 scale
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 03:01 PM
cgutzmer's Avatar
Design Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sun Prairie WI
Posts: 7,131
sweet! good to know
__________________
Want to buy some models from independent designers? http://www.ecardmodels.com and visit the shop!
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 05:00 PM
treadhead1952's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,369
Send a message via Yahoo to treadhead1952
On the one and only model that I recolored so far, I used MS Paint. I do now have Photoshop CS4 that I got a couple of weeks ago, but haven't tried to use it for anything as I am still learning about it.
__________________
Jay Massey
treadhead1952
Las Vegas, NV
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 06:54 PM
willygoat's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Papillion,Nebraska
Posts: 3,351
I use Photoshop 7. It's an older version, but my wife got it at the student rate in college. We got a whole Adobe design sweet for $400!
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 08:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,726
Paint.net is a great program and it's free.

Also there's Illustrator.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 08:34 PM
Darwin's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Eastern Idaho
Posts: 1,864
For the use we put it to, Photoshop 7 is a very usable tool, and can still be found occasionally on ebay for very reasonable price.
__________________
It's not good to have too much order. Without some chaos, there is no room for new things to grow.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 09:13 PM
3Turner's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In a pile of cardstock clippings
Posts: 2,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgutzmer View Post
If any of you have the iPad could that be used for repainting?
Chris, my wife has an iPad and I checked in the app store and saw only one app that may work in repainting, but it was advertised as actually painting a picture from a blank canvas. Couldn't figure out if something could be imported and worked on by description.....didn't want to buy only to find it would not do what expected for repainting. There is a Photoshop app, but it appears that it is tailored to actually do basic photo editing like adjust color, brightness, contrast and cropping.

Another thing that has me thinking, I am not too familiar with how Apple syncs stuff when a master document is maintained on a desktop while edits are done on the iPad. Makes me wonder if the syncing will delete one or the other document. I'm pretty much only familiar with syncing music, movies and photos that are already edited and won't be synced anymore. Something to research I suppose.
__________________
Robert
Repaints: 3Turner Models
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2