PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Software

Old 10-12-2014, 12:17 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Unhappy Pepakura and changing proportions

Greetings,

I'm quite new to pepakura and I wanted to make an Ironman suit for my 3yo son. Lucky for me, there are plenty of Iron Man .pdo files around the net. My problem is that his proportions are not those of an adult. I tried to change the proportions of the models using pepakura with no luck. I also tried using Sketchup but I had no luck either. So I wanted to ask what is the best way to change the proportions of an already existing .pdo file? Thanks in advance!
Google Adsense
Old 10-12-2014, 03:44 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.39 GB
1) Open the *.pdo with Pepakura Designer (not viewer) > 2D Menu > Change Scale > Scale Factor > change the values and hit OK. Then reorder the parts on the pages and print them.

2) If that is not possible (e. g. because the file is locked) you may print the file as is, take it to the copy shop and scale it up there.
Old 10-12-2014, 06:58 AM

Total Downloaded: 451.36 MB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revell-Fan View Post
1) Open the *.pdo with Pepakura Designer (not viewer) > 2D Menu > Change Scale > Scale Factor > change the values and hit OK. Then reorder the parts on the pages and print them.

2) If that is not possible (e. g. because the file is locked) you may print the file as is, take it to the copy shop and scale it up there.
Since the OP mentioned "3yo", it probably meant changing relative body proportions - e.g., making the head much bigger in relation to the limbs. If so, this requires not a rescaling but a redesign of the original 3D model, which AFAIK is beyond the abilities of Pepakura Designer. Even 2D rescaling of individual parts is not generally enough: it can, e.g., make a thigh overall bigger, but not shorter or thicker.
Old 10-12-2014, 08:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfuruti View Post