PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Software

Old 08-11-2015, 11:08 AM

Total Downloaded: 5.34 GB
Blender Program

Does anyone have a working knowledge of a Program called Blender and how it may be suited to paper model creation ? If you use it, what are your thoughts about it. Thanks Bob
Google Adsense
Old 08-11-2015, 01:15 PM

Total Downloaded: 81.41 MB
Hi Bob, I recommend the site "Virtual Aircraft" great work man and a compendium of knowledge about Blender
Regards, Henryk
Old 08-11-2015, 02:15 PM

Total Downloaded: 8.01 MB
I've used Blender, I took two classes during college for it.

It's an excellent tool, and can be greatly expanded with knowledge of Python scripting.

As far as unrolling and using for model creating.. I'm not sure. I haven't tested that one.
Old 08-11-2015, 06:48 PM

Total Downloaded: 8.19 MB
I'm currently studying it. My first impression is --- if you are already proficient with a different 3D modeling app like say....Sketchup or Meta, it's hard to switch. The UI key bindings, especially the use of the LMB and RMB are very different. And it will take a while to adjust. So I consider that an extra challenge for me.
But if you're starting with no prior 3D app experience, then I reckon it would be pretty straightforward to learn.

As for model creation, i've seen design threads in different forums for awesome card model aircrafts that used blender3d.
Old 08-12-2015, 04:30 AM

Total Downloaded: 27.71 MB
Here is a link to an ebook using an older version of blender: New Free E-Book About Paper Model Design With Blender 3D

old thread but might give you a basic understanding of how to begin.

Mike
Google Adsense
Old 08-12-2015, 11:09 AM

Total Downloaded: 5.34 GB