PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Software

Old 01-25-2021, 09:15 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Pepakura Designer Adding Unwanted Edges

Hi all,

I'm a bit new to paper modeling and have been experimenting with Sketchup modeling buildings for a model railroad. I plan to unfold in Pepakura and import into Silhouette Studio since I'm cutting in a Cameo 4. For now I'm getting the hang of the workflow, so I started with simple shapes and how they would behave in Pepakura Designer. As you can see in the images attached, when I import the model into Pepakura, weird edges are being added between the windows of the model, which are not there in the 3D model. If I make one window taller than the other, the edge is not created in Pepakura. Anyone know what's going on here? Is there anything I have to do to the 3D model so this does not happen? If it can't be done, is there a workaround so these do not appear while printing?

Pepakura Designer Adding Unwanted Edges-sketchup.jpg

Pepakura Designer Adding Unwanted Edges-pepakura-designer.jpg

Thanks.
Google Adsense
Old 01-25-2021, 12:39 PM

Total Downloaded: 32.15 MB
are you sure that the mesh geometry is correct?
or, maybe, you have hidden "double vertices" to be unified...
Old 01-25-2021, 01:25 PM

Total Downloaded: 1.39 GB
I encounter the same problem with models created in SketchUp from time to time. There is a video on Youtube explaining the basic procedure to solve the issue but I cannot find it at the moment. It was done by drawing additional lines and connecting the edges of the windows to the edges of the wall face of the house. The tricky thing is you don't know which line eliminates the red lines so it is a case of trial and error. A line in the wrong place may cause other edges to open.
Old 01-25-2021, 02:09 PM

Total Downloaded: 29.59 MB