PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Tips and Techniques

Old 01-27-2013, 03:46 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Question Cardstock usage

To all,

I'm a newbie, with a decided slant toward ACW ironclads. Hope my question isn't too basic for the gang.

I have an HP G85 printer and the paper path is a pretty tight 180 degree turn from the tray to where the printer heads do their work. I can coerce 67 lb. stock to work, but I suspect anything heavier may jam up the old printer.

I've printed out the CSS Texas on the 67 pound stock. Some of the build threads I've followed seem to be using heavier stock for the egg crate framing. Are these laminations or are they able to print on heavier gauge paper?

And I think I'm printing slightly undersized. The printer is set to shrink oversize PDF pages and I get page edge lines near the margins of my pages.

Your help will much appreciated.

Ken

Can this be moved to a more appropriate forum, like First Cuts. I didn't scroll far enough. Rookie faux pas. Sorry 'bout that.

Last edited by Obiwan3; 01-27-2013 at 04:20 PM. Reason: Wrong forum
Google Adsense
Old 01-27-2013, 04:51 PM

Hi, I think most people laminate to make the skeleton. I think this is as much to give rigidity as it is to give strength.
Personally I use 210gsm card as it is easily available from Staples (although my local staples is now closing down, so my next order might be online). I find this works ok, but it would be better laminated to double thickness. I design with the idea this is 0.2mm thick, so double thickness is 0.4mm.

My printer says I can use up to 105gsm, so I am using double that. After probably 200 sheets I have noticed no ill effects on the printer.

I did try to work out what 67lb was compared to 210gsm, but failed miserably!
Old 01-27-2013, 04:51 PM

ps..glad you like the ACW ships. You should feel at home here!
Old 01-27-2013, 05:00 PM

Total Downloaded: 113.24 MB