PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 02-26-2013, 10:00 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Question HMS Glowworm. Card thickness help!

Hello,
I am new to both this forum and card modelling.
Historically I have made both plastic, and wooden ships, currently making the Hood 1/200 scale from Hachette.
I have purchased the GPM HMS Glowworm card model, and am reticent to start it, becauise I am not aware of what card (plasticard), to use.
Would you normally bond the printed parts onto another card, an if so what thickness.
This looks very rambling, hope it makes sense.
Regards
Bob
Google Adsense
Old 02-26-2013, 04:38 PM

Total Downloaded: 129.82 MB
Hello, Bob!

Welcome to the cardmodeling experience! You'll find some signs or symbols on the sheets of the different card model editors, seems everyone has his own system there. But as a general rule for Polish card models, the parts that have to be doubled or bonded by surplus card (e.g. empty cereals packages) are indicated by small asterisks *, sometimes you can see the thickness indicated by - or =, meaning the double or triple thickness, or they give the thickness in mm (o.5 equals Bristol card, used for decks; 1 mm is normally used for the formers / skeleton).
Be aware: there's either a scissor symbol or the letter W used for "cutting out" or "to be cut out".

Kind regards - don't be shy to ask
Papercaptain

Last edited by Papercaptain; 02-26-2013 at 04:40 PM. Reason: Additional information
Old 02-26-2013, 05:22 PM

Total Downloaded: 587.2 KB
Bob,
Only parts marked with "*" should be laminated with 1mm card. You can use cardboard backing from calendars or laminate few layers of regulard card to achieve desired thickness. You can also purchase 1mm card, but that will drive the cost up...
Old 02-27-2013, 05:01 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Thankyou for these replys, have now found the "*" on the plans, so cooking with gas.
Regards
Bob
Old 08-29-2014, 08:04 AM

Total Downloaded: 10.75 MB