PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 03-14-2016, 11:56 AM

Total Downloaded: 5.93 MB
Laminating question

Newbie here,

I am in the process of building my very first paper model - the JSC SS United States. I have seen some threads here where builders laminate the pieces to 1mm cardboard (i.e., a build of the 1928 SS Bremen). Is this generally necessary or kit specific? Won't this throw off the fit somewhat if you make the pieces thicker? Where does one get 1mm cardboard, or is supplied with a kit? Finally if it is necessary or generally desirable to laminate (perhaps for strength), what do you use for adhesive? Some type of a spray adhesive?

I know this JSC kit is not the easiest one to start with, but so far I have most of the frame figured out (except for the stern and the bow) in spite of the limited instructions and almost complete lack of visual guides.
Google Adsense
Old 03-14-2016, 12:11 PM

Total Downloaded: 10.41 MB
Many questions, but good ones. Here go my answers:

Laminating is specific to the design of the kit itself. Generally kits that require it have parts marked with little number/letter codes or stars to denote thickness needed.

Very few JSC kits require any lamination. On the rare case they do it is generally listed in the instructions. I have the United states in my build pile but haven't looked at it in a while to see if its one of these rare ones.

Many folks use cardboard from cereal boxes and the like. To get the right thickness they glue layers of it together. Others (like me) tend towards using cardboard sourced elsewhere. For those cases needing Bristol board (0.,25 mm thick) I get a pad from the art section of Hobby Lobby or the like. The cereal box card is usually around 0.5 mm. Many times I use illustration board for my 1 mm needs. (this can be slightly larger than 1 mm though, so I have to make adjustments for fit).