PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 12-30-2016, 03:07 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Is there a way to print a portion of a pdf page while maintaining scale?

I'm pretty new to building paper models and I've found myself having to print out replacement pages fairly regularly if a part is damaged or doesn't look right.

Is there a way to select just the portion of the page you want to print to save on ink?
Google Adsense
Old 12-30-2016, 03:47 PM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
If you are using an Adobe Reader look for the Camera Icon surrounded by a dashed line in the menu bar at the top. Click on it to select that tool. You then left click and drag a box around the section of the page you want to print. It will leave a colored box around the selected area.

In the Pages to Print dialog the selection for Selected graphic should be ticked. Look below that to make sure Actual size is also chosen.
Is there a way to print a portion of a pdf page while maintaining scale?-ar.jpg

It should then just print the selected area.
Old 12-30-2016, 06:10 PM

Total Downloaded: 424.90 MB
This is very useful information. I'm sure glad you asked this question AM.

Don
Old 12-30-2016, 06:16 PM

Uh-oh

My stupid question of the day, Doug.

I do not get a camera icon. This is what I get. Is it because of the security settings in the file? Or the wrong kind of Adobe Reader program? Or what?

Don
Attached Thumbnails
Is there a way to print a portion of a pdf page while maintaining scale?-pdf-screenshot.jpg  
Old 12-30-2016, 07:30 PM

Total Downloaded: 145.94 MB
Don, I have Adobe Acrobat Reader DC and I just looked it up. The camera was found in the "Edit" tool. I went to "print", then used the snapshot to frame a section of the PDF, and it printed like he said.
But it centered the snapshot in the page, so you'll save ink, but not paper. Is there a way to print several snapshots on one page?