PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 07-05-2009, 11:02 PM

Total Downloaded: 17.84 MB
Mac Alternative to pepakura?

Hi to all,

I am working on something I have never done before: a paper model, designed in Google Sketchup, from scratch as a gift. It's slow going since I'm learning how sketchup works, but I know that once the 3D model is finished it must be unfolded, and the only program I see to do this is Pepakura. Two problems: A) I have a mac and Pepakura is inconveniently Windows-only and B) It costs $40.

Is there a Mac equivalent to this program that anybody is aware of? I could install an old copy of XP via Boot Camp, but it seems like such a waste of time and hard drive space to use only one program. If I do go this route I know there is a free sample version - would this be enough to make an effective model (very little texturing, mostly cylinders, straight edges, and a couple of spheres - but will be long, so probably spread across multiple pages).

Thanks to all!
Modeler0421
Google Adsense
Old 07-06-2009, 12:36 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.01 GB
There is an unfolding plug-in for Sketchup. Try searching for jf_unfoldtool.rb and you'll find several sources for it.
Old 07-06-2009, 05:01 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chthulhu View Post
There is an unfolding plug-in for Sketchup. Try searching for jf_unfoldtool.rb and you'll find several sources for it.
Here is a direct link to the suggested Sketchup plugin: [Plugin] SketchUp Blog: Plugin: Unfold Tool

I use MoI to model but it doesn't have an unfold tool so I rely on this ruby script to unfold my parts. I have found that parts which have complex curvature are a challenge. Breaking parts into faces of your own choice, rather than just letting the modeler decide on the triangulation, helps in getting a successful unfold. Sometimes part simplification is also required.

Avery uses this plugin to unfold his Civil War monitors.