PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 08-30-2018, 08:50 PM

Total Downloaded: 1.68 MB
A few newbie questions

I'm an absolute beginner (I introduced myself in the Welcome thread as sramsay. I'd link to it, but there seems to be a link limit. It's there, if you're interested .

I'm having a great time reading the forums, but I have some "newbie" questions. I've tried using the search function to figure them out (and I've read the FAQ), but I'm still unsure about a few things. I offer my apologies to the moderators if this is really not appropriate for "Tips and Tricks" (especially since I have none to offer), but I figured that *your* answers *would* qualify as tips and tricks -- at least for people new to the hobby.

Here goes:

1. Contact cement. I realize that good 'ol fashioned Elmer's (or whatever PVA-based adhesive) is the glue of choice for card modeling, but I also know from reading around that when you're trying to index card stock or otherwise glue together two big surfaces, you probably want some kind of contact cement (because, as I understand it, PVA is water-based and will warp the paper if you try to use it over a big area). My question is this: Is there some kind of preferred brand of contact cement that card modelers prefer?

2. Creating interior frames. I see a lot of models where the interior needs to reinforced with some kind of thicker cardboard. My question is: How thick? Is there a particular type of paper or cardboard I should be looking at?

3. Paint. I know that a lot of people use high-quality water colors for edging. But I also know that some people actually paint the models themselves (or parts of them). For example, this guy:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZP1IyIS0ca0