PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Tips and Tricks

Old 02-02-2020, 11:11 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.29 MB
My neck!!

Hello all,
I didn't see an obvious place to post this question, so I thought I'd try here. I've been working with paper card models since 2016. I usually sit down and work for an hour or two before having to stretch my neck and back. Even then, I get some tightening around the back of my neck because I'm hunched over the model, especially when cutting pieces out. I'm in my mid-50s so age is probably a factor. Has anyone come up with any techniques or ideas to help with this problem? I love this hobby and to be quite serious, the neck/back pain are the only negative aspects of working with paper models. Plastic kits don't seem to require this much intensity.
Thank you!!!
Google Adsense
Old 02-02-2020, 11:17 AM
ETERNAL ADMINISTRATOR

Total Downloaded: 683.37 MB
Send a message via Yahoo to rickstef Send a message via Skype™ to rickstef
One thing you could do, is actually two things
If you have an adjustable chair, lower it all the way down, and if possible, raise the table height, now your head and cutting surface are closer together, allowing you to look at the parts without having to bend your neck all the time.

There are times where I lower my seat height, to get a better look at the parts, and it helps with my neck and upper back

Rick
"The weak point of the modern car is the squidgy organic bit behind the wheel." Jeremy Clarkson, Top Gear's Race to Oslo
Old 02-02-2020, 01:20 PM
Eternal Member

Total Downloaded: 425.92 MB
All the stuff Rick suggests.

Chair, posture, try a cervical cushion on the chair.

It also sounds like it is seriously becoming a worry to you, so if that is the case a visit to a doctor may not be out of place just for peace of mind.
Old 02-02-2020, 04:10 PM

Total Downloaded: 4.62 GB