PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Tutorials

Old 01-07-2009, 10:58 AM

Location: Northern Bear Flag Republic (Known as Water World in L.A.)
Total Downloaded: 11.99 MB
Rotary Engine Cowls

Hello All,
Leif Ohlsson’s 1:16 Maly Modelarz Sopwith F1 Camel project is of great interest to me (see: Experimenting with kitbashing). This aircraft has been a favorite of mine for as long as I can remember. I decided that a separate tutorial would be better than interrupting Leif’s wonderful thread.
I noticed that Leif indicated some trepidation toward building the cowl, which for some odd reason, I could not leave alone (imagine that). I studied Pavel Mistewicz’ cowl design. It is an excellent design. In fact he’s done something that I’ve been thinking about adding to the petal tire design. The doubling of the middle segment with the glue tabs eases the construction by providing a stable ring by which the other two sections can be added.
I began by scanning the cowl sections with Photoshop and scaling them up by 206.25% to attain the proper 1:16 scale.

Printed on chip board the parts were cut out (chip board is the grey-brown cardboard on the back of notepads). Parts 37 and 37a were formed and glued together. Part 38 (nose) and parts 37/37a were glued together. The assembled parts were then worked with a spherical dapping punch and wooden clay forming tool to add curvature to the piece against a soft vinyl bucking piece. You have to be careful not to overdo the forming process. Too much will produce bumps and lumps that will need to be sanded out later.

Part 39 was then glued to the assembly.

The glue tabs were trimmed and the assembly rough sanded with open weave wall board sand paper (regular 60 grit sand paper would work just as well).