PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 02-17-2012, 04:47 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Beginner here with lots of questions

Hi All,

One of these days, I'd like to build a model of a baseball ballpark. Years ago I started a project with balsa wood but it was a bit too tedious and also inconvenient to find a hobby store with all of the right materials. Recently on the internet, I noticed someone built a ballpark out of card stock and thought this might be worth a try.

After browsing this site it sounds like most members are already pretty well established. I didn't get too much information on how to start out as a beginner or where to buy materials. It sounds like I can just go to Staples and buy card stock but I'm not sure what particular weight to use. One thread suggested using between 65-110 lb.

I also brainstormed about an idea to create a 3D version of a picture or sign such as my favorite magazine, for example. The image would be in the background and the name of the magazine (i.e. Time magazine) and borders might be slightly raised as if they were floating. I'm not sure if there's a name for this sort of art but I thought this might be something I could start out with.

Another potential obstacle is how would one get an image onto card stock? Would you print it onto a sticker first or print directly onto the card stock? I don't have the equipment to so print color images so I assume, I'd have to get this done at a place like Kinko's.
Google Adsense
Old 02-17-2012, 05:36 PM

Total Downloaded: 582.17 MB
I print directly onto cardstock, but I don't use the heavier card for what I build. My Brother Inkjet handles it fine. You can print onto stickers and affix to card, which would be my plan if I were to use thicker card on a project than my printer can handle.

I believe your magazine project would be considered 'decoupage'.