PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 09-06-2012, 01:08 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Smile Hello from the "Ancient Modeler"

Don't let the term "Ancient Modeler" fool you !! ... I'm a newbie to the art of ship building, wood, card, paper, plastic or any other method. The term "Ancient Modeler" is a re-work of "The Ancient Mariner" for those of you who recall the saga of same. I'm just old. Period. Actually just a little old.

I hail from South Africa and have recently (last couple of days in fact) discovered the amazing art of working with paper/card to produce the most astonishing models !! I need somebody to guide me here. Do you purchase kits to make models from paper/card ?? or do you purchase plans and then provide your own paper/card to build the model ??

If you need to purchase kits, where can I find them, and what do they cost ??

I hope to enjoy my stay with this forum.
Google Adsense
Old 09-06-2012, 01:31 PM

Total Downloaded: 582.17 MB
You have come to the right place. Some folks purchase pre-printed templates, some use plans to build their own models, but most download templates from the internet and print them off at home, or take the files to a print shop.

Look around the model building posts on ships. Check out the design threads and look around the Found it on the Internet section.

By the way, a long, long time ago when I was in high school, my senior thesis in English was on Samuel Taylor Coleridge (hopefully I remember how to spell it) entitled 'A Search for Reason in Imagination'. It was eventually published, but I don't even remember where. Thanks for bringing back some very old memories.
Old 09-06-2012, 01:35 PM