PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 12-27-2015, 04:28 PM

Total Downloaded: 236.98 MB
Cool How to begin a paper model

Hi, I'm a New member of this Group, I have building plastics models since I have 6 year old, now I have 63, but this is mi first attempt to do something in Paper. I really don't know how begin, What is the better class of paper for print the models, and more important which class of glue to use, and of course to learn every tip for make better models.

I'm a Ship modeler mainly. Tanks for your help
Google Adsense
Old 12-27-2015, 09:42 PM
Eternal Member

Total Downloaded: 6.51 GB
What do you think is the best paper for modeling

Glue-What do we use?

Sorry for the short answer but am rushed at the moment. These two links should get you started. Also look at the Tips and Tricks and First Cuts - A Lounge subforums. Lots of good info there.

Oh, welcome aboard!
Old 12-27-2015, 09:58 PM

Total Downloaded: 582.17 MB
Welcome. Depending on the model you are building and scale, you have a strong likelihood of needing somewhat curved shapes, so I would probably lean towards 65 lb cardstock. Do you have your eye on any particular models?
Old 12-27-2015, 10:37 PM

Total Downloaded: 857.34 MB
canon have a couple of freebie ship models to practise on
Old 12-28-2015, 12:39 AM

Location: Ripon, WI, 20 mi from Oshkosh - center of the Aviation Universe
Total Downloaded: 1.51 GB
Canon Creative Park is a good place to start. Pick an aircraft model or simple ship and print it on 65# cover stock (from any office supply store).

Paper Craft - Canon Creative Park

Another good starter model is Currell Graphic's V-1 Buzz Bomb or his Concorde SST.
His instructions are excellent and you'll learn most of the basics.
The models are free.

V-1 Flying Bomb - currell.net

BAC/Aérospatiale Concorde - currell.net