PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 10-27-2016, 02:13 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Howdy to Paper Modelers!

Just joined the site, and hope to acquaint myself with some of you shortly.

I am primarily a plastic modeler, of model railroad structures, space vehicles, and the occasional plane and auto, but I enjoy all phases of the modeling hobby, the best one in the world IMHO.

Recently, I re-stumbled onto the world of paper modelling, and realized 1/ how cool it was and 2/ I had some brief experience with it back in the day.

So just this week I bought some vintage Maly Modelerz tank kits on ebay, and when they arrive I will try one on for size.

Looking around this site, I realize that there is a whole world of new kits and designs and plans and builders out there. My skill set is nothing compared to some of the photo galleries I see here, but I do what I can do. I am impressed at the range of subject matter available in the hobby, and also how the pro-level modeller can get a model to look like it was NOT made out of paper. I guess that's the "art" of it.

At any rate, I still have one of my old "Builders Plus" HO structures which I made about 30 years ago, so when I get photo upload rights, I'll post pictures of it. It's a simple kit (and a terrible build) but it's really the only proof I have that I did indeed, build paper models. Now we'll see with the Maly tank models if my skill level has improved any. As they say, "Ya gotta start somewhere!"