PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 04-21-2019, 06:25 PM

Total Downloaded: 48.0 KB
Hi there, I just found this forum

I've been a model builder since my teens and I will be celebrating my 70th birthday in August. I first became interested in building paper models a couple of years ago with the hope that I could develop the skills needed for this branch of model building, particularly model ships.

One thing I am noticing already with the model ships, particularly sailing ships is that there are a lot of threads dealing with starting a sailing ship model but most end long before finishing the model. I too have suffered the same problem, several starts but very few finishes. As of now I have only one paper model that I completed. A small German tramp steamer.
Google Adsense
Old 04-21-2019, 07:04 PM

Total Downloaded: 65.34 MB
Welcome. Think a lot of us have that completion problem. So I just look at this as a support group...and marvel at the ones that can go straight through to finish.
Old 04-21-2019, 07:38 PM

Total Downloaded: 553.70 MB
Hi All,

And hi, Modelerbob. Welcome to the forum.

When I talk to somebody about participating in our hobby, I always recommend that a newcomer start with an easy model that has a good chance of being completed on the first try. Even if it's not your field of interest, I'll recommend a simple architectural model because they are usually two or three boxes boxes glued together.

I'll tell them that their first model will probably show a lot of mistakes...glue splotches, bad parts placement and uneven seams. But, I say that it's important that the first model be finished, because from the mistakes come the understanding of how to do a better job the next time.