PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 08-08-2009, 09:50 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Hello fro Colorado Springs, CO.

Hello all:

This is Larry Aldridge from Colorado. I am a retired IT professional who moved here 4 years ago. I enjoy building models in plastic, vinyl and porcelain and I am new to paper modeling! My primary subjects of interest are World War II armor and science fiction..
Google Adsense
Old 08-08-2009, 07:25 PM

Total Downloaded: 89.45 MB
Welcome. Porcelain, as a modeling material, is a new idea to me.
Old 08-08-2009, 08:10 PM
Eternal Member

Total Downloaded: 23.70 MB
Welcome to the forum , here you will find many items that might intrigue you. As for porcelana, is that the same as pouring a wet mold and making figurines like a'la LLadros,
or Hummel?
Old 08-08-2009, 09:37 PM

Total Downloaded: 65.34 MB
Welcome, beautiful part of the country there even if a bit cold for my tastes. Looking forward to seeing photos of some of your work.
Old 08-09-2009, 09:41 AM

Total Downloaded: 76.03 MB
Welcome Larry! You've found a great place to start your paper modeling adventure :D Can't wait to see some of your builds. Porcelain sounds interesting as a medium. Love Colorado Springs BTW. Beautiful city with great views.
Google Adsense
Old 08-09-2009, 11:29 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Thanks for the warm welcome by all!

Porcelain - A number of "Garage kit" companies have made there SciFi & Horror kits in this material which is very unforgiving when it comes to mistakes. However the quality of the finished product when airbrushed and oil finished can be quite spectacular. I destroyed many a Porcelain kit before I got it right!

I am sure I will do the same with paper models. The thing I noticed first is I don't seem to have enough hands when it comes to paper models :-). I am usually very precise when it comes to my building and they seem to present a new and unique challenge when it comes to building them.