PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > General Information and News > The Welcome Desk

Old 07-10-2010, 07:31 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
New Rookie from New Jersey USA

Good morning folks, as way of intro I am a RR modeler and usually work in wood. I decided to sign up after seeing Doris's boats made of paper and am looking for any intro style(Beginner) thread(s) to help learn how to work with paper to make ships. Going to do a little snooping around now that I can see the rest of the pics in the threads. Thanks for having me, Pat
Google Adsense
Old 07-10-2010, 11:31 AM

Total Downloaded: 41.26 MB
Welcome aboard, Pat! You will need to learn a lot before you can do the kind of work that Doris does, but if you have the patience and attention to detail needed for railroad modeling in any material you are well on your way already.

As for models on which to learn basic techniques, I would suggest that you check out the Downloads section here and download a few models that appeal to you. (Try the Links section too; there you can get access to hundreds of free download models.)

You can open the files, look at the instructions, look at the parts all you wish without spending a nickel on ink or paper. Then when you find one you like, print it out and start.

After building a few simple models you will be ready to tackle some more challenging projects. If you get stuck or are unsure of how to do something, please post a question on the forum; somebody will answer.

And keep your eyes on the build threads. We have some World-Class modelers who post in this forum and their build threads are an absolute wealth of helpful technique and information.

I look forward to seeing you around the forum.

Thomas
Old 07-10-2010, 01:20 PM
Eternal Member

Total Downloaded: 23.70 MB