Thread: Chess Anyone?
View Single Post

Old 02-17-2012, 11:39 PM

Total Downloaded: 2.44 MB
Really great stories guys, I especially can relate to Darwin's experience - except, I wouldn't let my father go to sleep unless I won. There was a time when I could tell my father was throwing the game, but that was when I didn't start discovering 'chess' and a good deal about it (though I have yet to scratch the surface). It still is gratifying and extremely fun to play chess with my father.

And Ashrunner, what a breathtaking turn of events, it should go down in writing! (Or typing in this case) - Truly the stuff of legends.

Speaking of the Queen's Gambit, I just completed a 5 minute 'Live Chess' match with an individual just a few minutes ago on Chess.com. I was playing black and I could tell it was the Queen's Gambit after c4. Honestly, I'm not too good with book openings and most of the time I just try to pick up fundamentals here and there and apply them to my game.

For those interested, the match went something like this:

1.d4 d5
2.c4 dxc4
3.e4 e6
4.Nf3 Nf6
5.Nc3 Bb4
6.Bxc4 Nxe4
7.Qa4+Nc6
8.O-O Nxc3
9.bxc3 Bxc3
10.Rb1 Bxd4
11.Nxd4 Qxd4
12.Bb5 Qxa4
13.Bxa4 O-O
14.Be3 Na5
15.Rbc 1c6
16.Rfd 1b5
17.Bc2 Bb7
18.Be4 f5
19.Bf3 Rad8
20.Bc5 Rfe8
21.h3 Rxd1+
22.Rxd1 a6
23.Rd7 g5
24.Bb6 Nc4
25.Bc5 Ne5
26.Rxb7 Nxf3+
27.gxf3 Rd8
28.Be3 Rd1+
29.Kg2 f4
30.Rb8+Kg7
31.Rb7+Kg6
32.Re7 h5
33.Rxe6+Kf5
34.Rh6 g4
35.Rxh5+Ke6
36.hxg4 fxe3

I came down to the wire with my opponent, and at move 30 we each had 10 seconds left. I haven't done any analysis of it, but I think I should have played 20. Nc4, looking to play Nb2, but then that could be met with Rb1. However, I was counting that time pressure would cause some impulsive moves. Definitely not my best game, and I'm sure I made plenty of mistakes, but for a change, my opponent wasn't rude. In fact, I played several games with another opponent who I actually befriended and we discussed our sentiments after each game.