PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 10-21-2010, 06:37 PM

Total Downloaded: 679.43 MB
Vacuform Canopy bank- or sharing

Guys

As a builder of mostly 1/33 scale paper planes, I get into situation that I buy kits that have commercially available canopies ( mostly Polish brand Gomix ). However, there are many other beautiful kits ( including new ones ) that I would love to build. I would like to propose that maybe some of us that have canopy molds they made and are willing to make a one or two more , create a list of who has what. Obviously a bit difficult accross international lines, but it is a thought.

Comments ?

Thanks

Isaac
Google Adsense
Old 10-21-2010, 07:23 PM

Total Downloaded: 248.80 MB
Thats a great idea!! Some kits you just can't find canopys for, and I hate making do with paper canopys..and I'm not very good at making my own plastic ones....Rich
Old 10-21-2010, 09:10 PM

Location: Skype: Chaiwat Kosatanakom Bkk, Thailand, RTAF air base
Total Downloaded: 0
I design my model with blank space for transparent plastic canopy. Hundred of mold are made for fulfill this space. Actually, it is quite easy to make a mold and practice the vaccum. I once share the technique in my Lockheed Martin F-22 Raptor.

I do understand this feeling, however, you should try to build them up. Try it once and you will enjoy it.
Old 10-21-2010, 09:20 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
i made a canopy for andrew's spitfire, and it came out ok on my very first try, unfortunately i did not save the mold...but your idea is great :D

maybe we can share on the building part of the molds...
finishing a kit is the BEST THING!:D
Old 10-21-2010, 09:24 PM

Total Downloaded: 1.67 MB
That is indeed a good idea.

Most of you in the aviation section may not have seen the tip I posted in the anime section for making canopies,

VF-1D Valkyrie Trainer