PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 07-15-2022, 08:54 AM

Total Downloaded: 15.79 MB
Mirage 2000 C Scissors and Planes 1/100 - Looking for advice

This is my first attempt at a Scissors and Planes 1/100 aircraft model.
Here's a partial build (details and landing gears missing).

My impressions:
- SnP models don't have instructions and it was a bit hard at the beginning to figure what all these pieces were, especially the small ones.
- 1/100 is quite small and I wonder how people manage to deal with some of the tiny pieces that are only 1 mm long.
- I don't think I managed to get a good result. Assemblies are not fitting great. Too much glue used at some places. Not perfectly symmetrical.

I will probably redo it, but I'm coming here first for some feedback on how to improve, based on the mistakes you can see in my pictures.
I have also a side question. Would enlarging the model to 1/72 or 1/48 make the build easier, and would my mistake be even more visible?
Attached Thumbnails
Mirage 2000 C Scissors and Planes 1/100 - Looking for advice-img_0710.jpg   Mirage 2000 C Scissors and Planes 1/100 - Looking for advice-img_0709.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 07-15-2022, 10:38 AM

Total Downloaded: 322.93 MB
Here is an idea- try building the same model 3-4 times each time learning how to make it better. By model nr 3 assembly will become easy as pie.

Lack of instructions is a problem but once you look up pictures and cross section drawings of subject assembly will be much simplified. One of beauties of Bruno models is that he uses the same method of assembly for pretty much all models so lessons learned on one will bear fruit on other models as well.