PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 08-05-2023, 09:24 PM

Total Downloaded: 30.97 MB
Murphys Twin Otter question

I'm new to paper modeling, though I've had a fair amount of experience with building plastic car models. This question probably has more to do with my ignorance than with any fault with this model.

I'm working on the first sections of the nose of the plane and am unclear on how to attach the finished sections to each other. The first few sections attach by inserting the tabs extending from one section into the next section. Then you get to the parts that have bulkheads. From the illustration, it looks like the tabs are folded in and the bulkheads attached to them, leaving no tabs extending to fit into the next section. So the edge of section A gets glued to the surface of section B? That seems like a difficult way to do it. If it's correct, though, I'll have another go at it. Thanks in advance for your assistance.
Attached Thumbnails
Murphys Twin Otter question-forum.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 08-06-2023, 09:20 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.59 GB
Welcome to the hobby! I gave up styrene for card a couple of decades ago and have never regretted it.

Re: Murph’s planes. I’ve built several of his Twin Otters. They build into nice replicas. But I’ll admit I’ve never liked or used his tabs. I always cut them off and make my own joining strips from lighter-weight paper, such as normal copying paper. That way, instead of a stepped appearance at the joint (one section overriding another) you can get a nice butt joint.

As for the parts with bulkheads, I always cut off the tabs and wound up making two copies of each bulkhead, usually using cereal box cardboard. One bulkhead will go on the back of one assembly and the other bulkhead will go on the front end of the part you’re joining to the aforementioned assembly.