PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > The CardBoard Lounge

Closed Thread

Old 07-23-2011, 01:38 PM

Total Downloaded: 13.06 MB
when is enough, enough?

i'll start by saying that this subject has likely been done, and yet, maybe not properly addressed. there is a whole sub-set of caring designers and modelers that try to support a "market" for what we do. i have seen, over the last decade, MANY people try to do the paper model art that i do. almost all fail, but it does not keep members begging for free stuff. guess what? i'm not being a cry baby. i've been designing and building paper models for over 30 years, doing the good stuff for, professionally, for almost 10.

it is NOT enough to design things few people want...
it is NOT enough to just design what YOU want...
it is NOT acceptable to design two or three models (and then quit) because it is too hard.
it is NOT proper to take money from customers, and then leave them unsatisfied (in any manner).

the paper model business, and the design process as a whole, requires dedication. short-term AND long term.

i don't care how good your designs are, if you cannot deliver consistently, over an indefinate period of time, you are NOT a commercial designer.

i do not pretend to be 100% perfect, but i will claim 98%.

i will encourage new designers and new techniques, but there should be SOME standard of excellence. the LAST thing i want to do (or see) is something like," o.k.... here are the REAL directions, corrected, for the model you paid good money for."
Old 07-23-2011, 01:55 PM

Total Downloaded: 198.27 MB
It appears that good directions may be harder than a good model.
Old 07-23-2011, 02:06 PM
Banned

Total Downloaded: 0