PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Design Requests

Old 09-11-2008, 07:04 PM
TTAC

Total Downloaded: 0
1851 Navy Colt

Well, I'm not a designer and I realize that nothing is hard for him that doesn't have to do it but...
I saw a thread at Zealot where someone had built a 1911 Colt .45 and, being a little more old-fashioned than that, I thought about the 1851 Navy Colt, the gun that, I think, Steve Earle referred to as a "cap-and-ball Colt", "shoot as fast as lightning, but loads a mite slow", and "get you into trouble, but can't get you out". I think a 1:1 scale model would be great. (There was also a CSA version.)

Just a thought,
Bill
Old 09-12-2008, 10:20 AM

Re: 1851 Navy Colt

Interesting...my father is designing a 1:1 "Pocket" Colt. I don't know much about the gun, but as a retired technical illustrator who was trained as an old-school draftsman, he is designing it the old-fashioned way and building a prototype. I told him when he gets his designs worked out I'd help transfer them to computer files and do a laser cut version. Perhaps it wouldn't be a long jump from that to the Navy Colt...
Cheers!
Bruce
Old 09-13-2008, 07:43 AM
TTAC

Probability says that if you put a whole bunch of monkeys at keyboards typing randomly sooner or later one of them will produce the complete works of Shakespeare (probably not enough matter in the universe to make enough monkeys and keyboards and not enough time in the life of the universe but those are just details)...put enough people on this planet and one of them will be designing a paper model of a nineteenth century revolver.

Small world...

I'm no expert but I think the difference between the "pocket" and the Navy--besides the markings of course--is the length of the barrel. And the difference between the Navy and the CSA ripoff is the shape of the barrel--one was round, the other hexagonal or maybe octagonal. (Apologies to Civil War buffs for my lack of knowledge.)