PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Designers helping designers

Old 04-26-2022, 05:10 PM

Total Downloaded: 1.92 MB
Finding an intro to designing models

Is there a post thread that helps someone get into designing kits? What software to use, tips and tricks, etc.
Google Adsense
Old 04-27-2022, 07:05 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.27 GB
Tyler

I'm surprised that you ae even asking this based on the F-18 I saw at the convention last year. :>)

I'm not a designer but I think the more popular free vector tool here is Inkscape. There is also Sketchup and Blender. There are plenty of free non-vector (bitmap) tools as well. There are some tutorials here as well as YouTube.

Roman (der Kampfflieger) has a good book to purchase on paper model design. Nando did a tutorial based on his learnings from it here:

Sopwith Swallow (it’s Sketchup, Pepakura, Paint.net story [restart])

Bruno has a tutorial on recoloring (sorry, too lazy to find the link) - Note that he uses MS Word to design his kits. There is the old-fashioned way of scratchbuilding that RyanShort has in the Download section.

Bob
Old 04-27-2022, 06:17 PM

Total Downloaded: 1.92 MB
Models like my F/A-18E, Fairey Swordfish, and Grumman Goose are impossible to recreate. I would, however, like to try my hand at designing a model that has my style embedded into the kit. Something that others could build and learn new things from.

I've built a few kits and many scratch builds, I've learned a whole lot from the two styles and I think there could be a unique and interesting way to combine the two to make one hell of a model.

I'm 26, so I've got time to learn and perhaps even someday have a bit of a brand. I think that would be awesome.
Old 04-28-2022, 12:00 AM

Total Downloaded: 517.40 MB