PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Designers helping designers

Old 06-22-2022, 04:18 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
A Math Problem with a Model Roof

I'm building a model of a German train station and I want to make a Jerkinhead roof ( clipped gable roof ) for it, but I feel like a jerk-in-the-head for not being able to figure out the math to make the measurements. Here is an example of the roof on a different N scale model:

https://pdf.grundschule-pretzschendo...um_Bahnhof.pdf

The height of the triangular portion of the roof depends on how much of an angle that clipped roof comes in. It seems like there is a simple mathematical way of doing these roofs, but I'm a rookie to building models and have not found the answer ( heck, I don't even know where to look ).

Simply put, I want to know how to figure out how high to make that triangular portion based on how deep it is cutting into the main roof.

Any help would be appreciated!

Connie
Google Adsense
Old 06-22-2022, 05:54 PM

Total Downloaded: 553.70 MB
Hi All,

And hi, LittleHaus. My son has a degree in math from respected university, but he certainly didn’t get his aptitude from me. When confronted with a similar problem, I usually build a quick test model out of some blank card. Settle on the angle of your roof, draw and cut it out, and draw out, cut and glue a wall with its gable end that will fit under the cardstock roof. Don’t forget to leave enough overhanging eave. Make a good guess and snip out the triangle of your jerkinhead. Then, cut a separate paper triangle to fit. It won’t be perfect the first time, so do it again until you’re happy with the results. I found this process is a lot faster than fretting about the math. When done, write down your dimensions so you can use them on the other side of the building.

And the best part of all of this is you can now call yourself a scratch-building paper modeler.

Best of luck,

Score and fold,

Thumb Dog
Old 06-22-2022, 06:15 PM