PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Designers helping designers

Old 07-11-2023, 01:58 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Pros and cons of model design programs

I have been following these forums for a while and I have been a longtime builder of paper models. Mostly Halinski stuff, GPM, and Fly Model. I have been thinking about getting into the designing side of modeling and after reading the excellent Virtual Airplane tutorial from Wittold Jaworski and the Fundamentals of Paper Model Design by Pixel Oz I still have a very basic question.

Which design software and why?

I am a fairly good amateur with Fusion 360, have used SketchUp in the past, and I have downloaded Blender but have zero experience with it although the graphics and rendering possibilities of Blender seem to make it necessary for the types of models I have in mind.

My interest leans towards very accurate highly detailed and realistically colored and textured/worn models like the ones from Halinski. Thus, the ability to add wear, dirt, oil, grime, etc to the model along with realistic panel lines and rivets is necessary. Since I have built enough of the Halinski models I can appreciate the skill in designing where paper thickness is taken into account and parts always seem to fit precisely if they are cut properly.

Fusion 360 has the ability with sheet metal tools to unroll and account for thickness. I understand quite a few other programs have unroll function but for complex parts like fairings, rounded nose cones, parts with gores, and designing internal support frames I am wondering how useful they are compared to Fusion 360.

Is it worth learning a new program because they have design functionality superior to Fusion 360? What are some pros and cons from those who have actually designed their own models?
Google Adsense
Old 07-11-2023, 02:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tyler Durden View Post
Which design software and why?