PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Diorama

Old 11-07-2021, 07:57 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Indianapolis International Airport in 1:400

Hi! New member here. Looking to build an accurate model of the old Indianapolis International Airport terminal in 1:400 to display my fleet of diecast airliners representing airlines and aircraft types regularly scheduled to IND over the years. I posted it in Aviation but realized it might fit better under Diorama. I'm being blocked from posting the URL so please visit the Aviation section to see the particulars of this project. I have posted several reference photos showing different parts of the facility.

I do have experience with scale modeling and graphic design but I'm new to paper modeling. Looking for tips and advice from seasoned veterans on how to design and build this project... what software is best (I was thinking of using Inkscape), what kind of paper to use, whether to print myself at home or send it off for commercial printing for better quality, etc. As well as general advice and specific techniques that might be applicable to this particular project.
Google Adsense
Old 11-07-2021, 08:17 PM
ETERNAL ADMINISTRATOR

Total Downloaded: 683.37 MB
Send a message via Yahoo to rickstef Send a message via Skype™ to rickstef
You need a couple more posts(8) in order to post url links.

As for paper, look for cardstock or index stock, anywhere from 110 to 200 lb paper.
you can get smaller packs of cardstock at Walmart, or at your local hobby store(Joann's, Michael's, Hobby Lobby)

If you have a recent printer, as 5 years old or younger, you will be ok with printing.
Ink jet and laser are two available versions available for the home printer(you).
Ink jet will give you a great print, with laser printers, you need to fiddle with the heat settings in order to prevent the toner to flake off when scoring and bending the parts.