PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 04-19-2015, 10:45 AM

Total Downloaded: 377.4 KB
Laminating and tolerances

I am a rookie to paper as a media. I am going to build the Digital Navy USS Oregon. I know this is overly ambitious, but that's what I'm doing. My question is about tolerances. Roman Detyna recommends Staples Photo Supreme Matte and that's what I used. The hull formers are to be 1mm thick. The paper is 0.23mm. If I laminate it, 3 layers is 0.82mm, 4 becomes 1.13. How close do I need to be? Do I go + or -? I took my micrometer to Michaels, but could not find any combination of things that would come any closer to 1mm. When I laminate, is there any real benefit to alternating the direction of the layers, assuming there's a grain involved?

Also, if I use a spray like Scotch Super 77, is there a chance of delamination with time? I've read PVC diluted 50% is better! but with the size involved I can foresee a disaster happening.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Kurt
Google Adsense
Old 04-19-2015, 11:18 AM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
A popular choice for laminating to make formers is to use cereal box cardboard instead of card stock or photo paper. It is usually around 0.5 mm thick. Chipboard, used to back pads of paper, is another choice.

Alternating the grain can help in reducing curling of the parts which can happen sometimes.

Generally it is better to go a little thinner because it is usually easier to add more thickness than to remove it.

Old 04-19-2015, 01:20 PM

Total Downloaded: 27.71 MB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt J View Post