PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 04-02-2010, 02:37 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
A very general question about paper modelling

Okay, to start off, please understand that I am COMPLETELY new to this. I have wandered about the site and seen some amazing work using some incredible techniques. My experience is as a plastic modeler so watching you guys build these models out of paper in many ways just blows me away.

My question is a very basic one; What stops people from utilizing other media to get the same effect? As I watch people create a round cylinder out of paper I ask myself "why not just use a piece of styreme tubing?" Is it a matter of staying within the paper media as a personal challenge? If there some kind of "governing body" (ala IPMS) that regulates what materials can be used?

Also, is it against all of the rules to completely repaint a paper model? If I were to create a paper model using different materials and colors would it be frowned upon by the "old timers?" Would the "World Paper Modelers Society" disqualify me out of hand? ;-)

I know that the stock answer will be "do what you want and enjoy it." But I would love to hear why the overwhelming number of models built on this site seem to emphasize (and almost take special pride in) the use of paper only. Is THAT one of the challenges of paper modeling? There is a psychology to each of the various modeling disciplines (wood, plastic, metal, etc) I really want to hear about the guys who solely work in paper.

Please, I hope no one takes what I have written as some kind of insult to the hobby. I am genuinely curious and love to hear what people have to say about their own areas of this amazing hobby we call modeling (believe me, if you ask ME what I think about armor modeling in plastic you will get an earfull)! Thank you in advance for your responses.
Google Adsense
Old 04-02-2010, 02:56 PM

Total Downloaded: 316.45 MB