PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > Other Things We Do & Make

Old 05-04-2023, 11:24 PM

Location: Ripon, WI, 20 mi from Oshkosh - center of the Aviation Universe
Total Downloaded: 1.51 GB
Other Things I Do: My "MG-Whizz"

I'm a licensed Private Pilot, and about six years ago, I decided to start flying again after being away from it for ten years. I set aside some money for flying club membership, aircraft rental, and retraining. Then I thought about how little flying time that amount would get me, and I bought a sports car instead.

My "MG-Whizz" is a FiberFab "MiGi" kit car -- a replica of a 1949-51 MG-TD, built in 1985 on a VW Bug chassis and drive train. I found it on the Internet and bought it from private seller in Denver. MiGis were popular in the '70s and '80s and I've wanted one since my college days.

After buying it, shipping it to Wisconsin, and fixing some mechanical issues the seller had conveniently failed to mention, I still had about half of my "flying money" left over. Over the past winter, I had its 1968 VW engine professionally rebuilt, and boy, am I glad it's not an airplane!

At car shows, it's no concourse winner, though I've brought home a few trophies in the "specialty car" category. But mostly it's just a whole lot of fun to drive.
Attached Thumbnails
Other Things I Do:  My "MG-Whizz"-nose.jpg   Other Things I Do:  My "MG-Whizz"-4-july-2022-.jpg   Other Things I Do:  My "MG-Whizz"-greenlake2020.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 05-05-2023, 06:28 AM
ADMINISTRATOR

Total Downloaded: 1.79 GB
Nice "MiGi". I could be seen in that!

Respect the Paper, RESPECT IT!
GET OFF MY LAWN!
Old 05-05-2023, 06:29 AM
POTM Moderator

Total Downloaded: 18.36 MB
Gorgeous. I couldn’t help snagging a few photos from the web of these wonderful cars.