PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Future, Current, and Past design projects > Paper Surgeon's projects

Old 05-11-2013, 03:00 AM

Total Downloaded: 97.35 MB
Human anatomy

Hello all,
I am a medical engineer who is compiling a new theory of human anatomical design. The new paradigm is based on the topology of the Moebius Band and the Klein Bottle.

Paper modelers of course should be familiar with the simple construction of the famous twisted paper loop. What I am proposing is to build up various components of human anatomy form from paper moebius loops. Two opposite twisted loops form a kleinbottle, which is a one sided suface that mathematicians claim cannot exist in 3D space. These mathematical oddities, however appear to be fundemental components of the human design.

My idea is to build up various forms, such as the hips for example. These designs would be painted as the corresponding anatomical components appear. There are several design challenges involved, such as double sided printing, and perplexing folding and gluing instructions... Anyone interested?!
Google Adsense
Old 05-11-2013, 05:41 AM

Total Downloaded: 3.29 GB
Hello Graig,
I had no idea what you where talking about.... A little reading in WikiPedia gave me some insight: This is mathematics way above my level.
Nor can I see how you want to form this into a paper human body.
Maybe you can show your effords and interest will grow.
Maybe even more if you start with the hips of... 'let's say Beyoncé or even Pamela A.

Willem E.
(AKA Ponytail)
Old 05-11-2013, 07:07 AM

Total Downloaded: 1,012.17 MB
I am also intrigued but doubt if my building skills would be up to the challenge. Please continue with this work. I'd love to see where it's going.

Curt
Old 05-11-2013, 07:47 AM

Total Downloaded: 359.93 MB