PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 10-10-2010, 08:01 PM

Total Downloaded: 1.59 GB
WIP -- Visby

Here are some work-in-progress photos of my latest build, the Swedish stealth corvette Visby. This is only my second ship (I started Digital Navy's Admirable years ago and never finished it) and this is my second go at the ship. The first ended up in the trash can, and as a rocket-and-space modeler, my hat is off to you ship modelers because these things can be hard.

I chose Zarkov's Visby because A) I thought it looked cool and B) I figured that since it was built with stealth in mind, it had a clean hull and deck and would have a low parts count -- and therefore would be easy.

Yeah, riiiight.

My first attempt was the full-hull model. My attempt failed miserably. So I decided this model was not going to beat me and I decided to try again, but this time make it a waterline model.

Zarkov's model is dated 2004, and there have been a number of modifications to Visby and her sister ship since then, and I am working to incorporate them. Perhaps the most notable is the radome atop the superstructure, and I have yet to add the rotating radar to the top. The radome was scratchbuilt using a shroud calculator to figure out the dimensions. There's also a director that I'll add just forward of the bridge, and I also want to add the windshield wipers to the windows. There are also various bits and pieces I'll have to add, but fortunately, there aren't too many because the outside of these ships are kept relatively clean for stealth purposes.

I've seen photos of Visby with safety netting around the flight deck, I've seen photos of the ship with railings around the flight deck and I've seen photos that show nothing around the flight deck. So, for simplicity's sake, I went the latter route.

I scratchbuilt the railing that goes just behind the bridge with really thin pieces of gray cardstock.