PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 01-23-2011, 09:55 AM

Total Downloaded: 385.3 KB
Brockley Combe - Scratch Built

Before anyone reads further, this is my first attempt at scratch building, or paper / card modeling for that matter. I built a number of plastic models from kits in my youth, but never liked the way they looked. I find that I am much more obsessive in my old age.

---

For Christmas I received from my Amazon.com wishlist a book by Edwin Leaf entitled: Ship Modeling from Scratch: Tips and Techniques for Building Without Kits. I decided I would build a 1938 Coastal Freighter by the name Brockley Combe that was recommended as an easy scratch build by Leaf. After discovering this site I was inspired to build it out of paper and cardboard, but using the techniques that Leaf suggested (which I modified only slightly).

Note that you will see many rookie mistakes here as I move along. I figure, I might as well make all my mistakes on the same model rather than start again.

Next time - The First Attempt.

Have Fun!

Jon Benignus
Attached Thumbnails
Brockley Combe - Scratch Built-leaf-book.jpg   Brockley Combe - Scratch Built-brockley-combe-cover.jpg   Brockley Combe - Scratch Built-brockley-combe-instructions.jpg   Brockley Combe - Scratch Built-brockley-combe-plans.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 01-23-2011, 10:01 AM
POTM Moderator

Total Downloaded: 18.36 MB
Welcome to the forum.
It will be a pleasure to watch you blaze a new trail with your freighter.
Mike
Old 01-23-2011, 10:07 AM

First Attempt - SS Garbage Scow

So it is the first days after Christmas and I read my new book about scratch building model ships. I want to try out some techniques so I am going to get some shipping boxes left over from Christmas. My wife (who is a better engineer than I am) says "Don't use corrugated cardboard." Did I listen to her? Of course not. "Everything will be fine dear." Yea right.