PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 08-27-2008, 09:24 AM

Total Downloaded: 37.75 MB
The USS New York (ACR 2)

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to the site and thought I'd post the saga of a scratch building project I'm starting - a large scale model of the cruiser New York (1893). If I’m going over topics and methods that have been discussed before, I apologize; some of my brilliant solutions are probably old hat to many of you.

My main interest has always been turn of the century warships, especially American, British and French, and the New York seemed like a good first project as the sides of the hull are pretty straight and she doesn’t exhibit the pronounced tumblehome of some of the French ships of the period.

A word of caution to all purists out there: my models are about 90 percent paper. Because they are so large, I use some wood for framework and brass for gun barrels. I build them to look like they were constructed around the turn of the century, with slightly exaggerated features and graphics.

The model below was my first attempt. It represents no particular ship as I was going for a generic warship of the period just to see if I could actually build something worth looking at. I designed and printed all the ships parts on heavy Bristol board and glued everything together with contact cement and white glue.

I grabbed some design elements from photos and plans I had and called her Illinois, after my home state. She is 38 inches long.

I learned a lot making this model and now I plan to use the experience to make a similar, more detailed model of an actual ship - the New York. I have the deck and hull sides almost finished and I'll begin with pictures and descriptions of her construction in the next installment.
RT
Google Adsense
Old 08-27-2008, 01:24 PM

Total Downloaded: 92.57 MB
That looks cool, like a sculpture/artwork
Old 11-04-2008, 05:28 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Quote: