PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 03-29-2014, 09:58 AM

Total Downloaded: 157.17 MB
Russian battleship Imperator Nikolai I - Orel 1:200

Good afternoon to all paper modellers...

It'a a long time I'm wollowing (very silently) this wonderful forum, and now I thought it's my time to show the last model I'm woking on.

This is my first attempt in a full hull model, the previous I made were all waterline.

The subject is the Russian battleship Imperator Nikolai I and now some historical notes (took from wikipedia) :

Imperator Nikolai I (Russian: Император Николай I) was a Russian Imperator Aleksandr II-class battleship built for the Baltic Fleet in the late 1880s.

She participated, in 1892, in the celebration of the 400th anniversary of the discovery of America in New York City.

After this mission she was assigned to the Mediterranean Squadron and visited Toulon in October 1893.

She sailed for the Pacific Ocean during the First Sino-Japanese War and remained in the Pacific until late 1896, when she returned to the Mediterranean Squadron and supported Russian interests during the Cretan Revolt.

In April 1898 she returned to the Baltic and had a lengthy refit, which replaced all of her machinery, before returning to the Mediterranean in 1901.

Returning to the Baltic during the Russo-Japanese War, the Imperator Nikolai I was refitted in late 1904 to serve as the flagship of the Third Pacific Squadron under Rear Admiral Nikolai Nebogatov.

Slightly damaged during the Battle of Tsushima she surrendered the following day, along with most of the Third Pacific Squadron, to Admiral Nebogatov to the Japanese fleet.

She was then taken into the Imperial Japanese Navy under the new name of Iki (壱岐?) and she served as a gunnery training ship until 1910 and then became a first-class coast defense ship and training vessel.

Her career terminated when she was sunk as a target ship in October 1915.