PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Ships and watercraft

Old 07-11-2021, 09:17 AM

Total Downloaded: 10.08 MB
On the Schwarzer Rabe model, I have a bunch of ship model projects still, and I have to take a break from the Schwarzer Rabe for a bit while I get caught up a bit with other stuff that includes rigging repair of a small desktop model of a yacht.

I've made some progress since my last post here. But, I have to admit that, as a wooden ship modeler, I lack experience in paper modeling. I have a tendency to see the seams between paper parts with a critical eye, so I end up trying to fix things that may be better left alone. Plus there's the issue of the flattened hull between frames.

I didn't have much problem with that issue with my 1/96-scale HMS Alert paper model from Shipyard. That kit has another layer of planking, which evened out the hull quite a bit. But, now that I think about it, I didn't have the problem at all with my Bremen Cog kit, which is also from Shipyard. I didn't have any seam issues with either of those kits, as they were both clinker planked.

At the moment, the hull of the Schwarzer Rabe is a mess, as I'm in the midst of cleaning it up. There's some painting I need to do, but there I have to hold off and do a little cleanup first, as I have some thick strakes to apply. But more on this later.

Attached is a photo of the model with keel in place, but with the garboard planking strip yet to be trimmed and added. I'm not thrilled with the model at this stage, though I'll probably be a lot happier after I'm able to add the thick strakes and get the hull cleaned up and the lower hull painted.
Attached Thumbnails
Dutch Fluit Schwarzer Rabe, 1627 - Shipyard 1/96 by catopower-img_2722.jpg  

Blog: shipmodeler.wordpress.com
Old 07-11-2021, 10:47 AM

Total Downloaded: 127.22 MB
It does not look too bad to me, Clare. Some filler, a little sanding, a simple paint job and your troubles are all over.